Today the household help was telling us about her son. How he is not interested in studies, how he likes to earn working as a construction worker…and she said something about how she sees a brighter future for her son, as wages are pretty good for a male construction worker and by the time he grows up, he would earn a good wage. (I wanted to tell her about inflation, but stopped myself.)

“Ummeed pe duniya khayam hai”..and she had her hopes bound to her son and I didn’t want to shatter those.

This got me thinking about how moms want bright futures for their kids (albeit in their own limited spheres) and it also got me thinking about hope.

Hope keeps us ticking, makes us push our boundaries, expand our strengths.

Some days I want to give up..hoping. I want to let go and stop trying.

But then I hope that tomorrow will be better. I too hope for a better future for my son and myself.

I work harder in the hopes of getting a better appraisal(I hope my manager reads this ;)), I eat right in the hopes of maintaining better health.

And most of the times it is things that we do not hope for, that happen, more than the things we hope for!!  But we carry on, with this emotion of human resilience that makes us think tomorrow or the day after or the next is going to be better..hoping against hope!

I have a few quotes on hopes..diametrically opposite. Tell me friends which path would you chose?

In reality, hope is the worst of all evils, because it prolongs man’s torments.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche, Human, All Too Human, 1878 ( I want to thump my table and say ..you got it right dude!! on my very bad days.)

When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”

Hope begins in the dark, the stubborn hope that if you just show up and try to do the right thing, the dawn will come.  ~Anne Lamott

The wings of hope carry us, soaring high above the driving winds of life.  ~Ana Jacob

The road that is built in hope is more pleasant to the traveler than the road built in despair, even though they both lead to the same destination.  ~Marian Zimmer Bradley (I fell in love with this one)

(P.S:  please notice I have put in more of the otimistic/hopeful quotes …wink wink)

