I am not too sure how many of you will be able to connect to what I am about to put up today. But here I go…

I went for a walk with my son a couple of days ago. My son seems to love poking around in the most weirdest of places (have to admit, he is very much like me in that aspect..). We went around my mom’s place and then the lil fella decided to take a break right next to an empty plot….and we saw these there…

I was probably as excited as my son! It had been ages since I had seen these. As a primary school kid, I used to roam around the grounds around a temple built on a small hillock with my friends. It was one of our primary occupations, to hunt for these berries, and squish out the seeds in them. We used to call them  ‘lingada-kai’, since the seeds uncannily resemble a Shiva linga!

 

 

We used to feel thrilled at this aspect. It brought back a lot of memories.

Here I was, a mom now, sharing a part of my childhood magic with my son. My son was super-thrilled at the new discovery as well!

I searched google for the fruit and the only hit I got was this:

http://travel.mongabay.com/uganda/images/ug1_3402a.html . Looks like it is native to Uganda!!

Do any of you remember this fruit? Is there something else, some other sliver of childhood magic that you shared with your kids?? Drop me a line…

