I have always been a firm believer in this snippet of wisdom of ‘throwing one’s hat over the fence’. Most of the things I have learnt in life have been this way. It’s a mantra that has always worked for an habitual procrastinator like me.

Before I am off on a rant, let us sorta explore what the fence is and why I am so keen on everyone throwing their hat over it..

The fence is to me a lot of wooden logs of thoughts firmly entrenched in the ground. These are the thoughts that make us insecure – the ‘what ifs’ of our lives!These are the thoughts that make us the most insecure…what if my husband left me? what if I had to raise the kid alone? what if I lose my job? What if I had to die friendless..you get the idea. The fence of ‘what ifs’ is generously coloured by societal conditioning which tells us that we wont be able to do without falling into a set pattern, the blueprint of life already owned and propounded by people around us.

Yeah, you could live your life within this fence, but your heart cannot thrive! Throw your hat or in this case heart outside the fence and see what lies beyond..You will find that we are always much stronger and resilient than what we thought we were!

The fence sometimes could be a shit pile of work which scares you even before you start doing the job. Throw your hat over the shit pile and then you will have to go through it to get your hat!

I have always wanted to go trekking near snow-capped mountains..feel miniscule before the towering giants of nature. There were and still are so many reasons I can dig up to not go..I do not have the desired physical fitness levels, I am a mom..how can I leave my kid for so many days..blah blah..but I am going to throw my hat over the fence and declare on the world-wide web that I am going to go to ‘Valley Of flowers’ In Uttaranchal this July and I am doing it alone (But would love it if any of you showed interest in accompanying me).

There, I have done it now!! 🙂

These are the people I am going with-

http://getoffurass.com/india-trips/item/29-trek-himalayas-valley-of-flowers-hemkund-sahib-satopanth-lake-garhwal-uttarakhand

Now all that is left to do is to go and get my hat back 😛

Wish me luck people.

“So pack up your troubles and take a step forward –
The process of change can be tough,
But think about all the excitement ahead

There might be adventures you never imagined
Just waiting around the next bend,
And wishes and dreams just about to come true
In ways you can’t yet comprehend!

Perhaps you’ll go places you never expected
And see things that you’ve never seen,
Or travel to fabulous, faraway worlds
And wonderful spots in between!

So keep putting one foot in front of the other,
And taking your life day by day…
There’s a brighter tomorrow that’s just down the road –
Don’t look back! You’re not going that way!”

                                                          – Anonymous

 

